13 Modules


This is the introduction to the training of ASAM Criteria. This is a breakdown of the format of this training which will be eligible for 6 CEUs from the NCASPPB upon completion of the evaluation.

Intake and Assessment

The assessment and treatment process, as defined in ASAM's criteria, begins with intake and assessment, which includes a comprehensive biopsychosocial assessment and risk/severity rating, as well as an immediate need profile.

Understanding the New ASAM Criteria

The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Criteria are the most widely used guidelines for assessment, service planning, placement, continued stay and discharge of patients with addictive disorders. A new edition was released in October 2013. This free webinar will update participants on what is new since the last edition ASAM PPC-2R, 2001. It will highlight compatibility with DSM-5 and new sections on older adults, criminal justice clients, parents with children and people in safety sensitive occupations. It will also discuss emerging approaches in addiction around Tobacco Use Disorder and Gambling Disorder.

Readiness to Change/ Stages of Change

Five stages of change have been conceptualized for a variety of problem behaviors. The five stages of change are precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, and maintenance.

Risk Rating

The ASAM criteria: Treatment criteria for addictive, substance-related and co-occurring ... Dimensional Rating. What are risk ratings and why do we care?

Clinical Evaluation and Treatment Planning

Treatment plans usually follow a simple format and typically include the following information:

  • The patient's personal information, psychological history, and demographics.
  • A diagnosis of the current mental health problem.
  • High-priority treatment goals.
  • Measurable objectives.
  • A timeline for treatment progress.

Service Planning and Placement

Levels of Care

The ASAM criteria conceptualize treatment as a continuum marked by five basic levels of care, which are numbered in Roman numerals from Levels 0.5 through Level IV. Thus, the ASAM criteria provides the addiction field with a nomenclature for describing the continuum of addiction services, as follows:

Level 0.5: Early Intervention
Level I: Outpatient Services
Level II: Intensive Outpatient/Partial Hospitalization Services
Level III: Residential/Inpatient Services
Level IV: Medically Managed Intensive Inpatient Services

10 Ways to Use Patient Placement Criteria to Enhance Treatment


  • Review assessment tools available for client self assessment, new DSM V assessment tools and the Functional Assessment Rating Scale
  • Review case studies and develop integrated summaries based upon the clinical interview, patient placement tools and the Functional Assessment Rating Scale
  • Identify the purpose of the integrated summary
  • Identify the essential components of the integrated summary

The ASAM Criteria: Treatment Criteria for Addictive, Substance-Related, and Co-Occurring Conditions

If you are a clinician of a community-based mental health and addictions agency, you may have been granted a discount code for this course. This would have been granted to assist you with the completion of a more comprehensive understanding of what is needed in the clinical assessments especially as the clients being assessed are continuously diagnosed with a substance and/or addictions diagnosis. This training is eligible for 6 CEUs from the NCASPPB upon completion of the evaluation of the training once completed.

Modules for this training 13
Sign Up

Already have access to this training?    Sign In Here

Personal Information

Payment Options

 ASAM Criteria
 $118.70 USD

How do you want to pay?

No payment method needed.

I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy

Yes, I'd like to receive your emails. Please add me to your email list.

Pay 0.00
My Trainings Available Trainings
Sign In

Sign In Details

Forgot Password